Monday, February 11, 2013

Arlo Guthrie - Here Comes the Kid (2013)

Arlo Guthrie
Here Comes the Kid
The Birchmere, Alexandria, VA
February 8, 2013
Section: Stage Left, Middle, Off Main Aisle

AT-933 (Sub-Cardioid) > SP-PREAMP >
Edirol R09-HR (24/96 WAV) > Sound Studio 4
(Aplify, Fades & Tracking) > MP3 (320k)

Panasonic Lumix FZ-100

DISC 1 (50:27)

01. A Special Night
02. Oklahoma Hills
03. If a Bank Robs a Farmer
04. Pretty Boy Floyd
05. Thankful For the Folk Scare
06. St. James Infirmary
07. Remembering Byrds
08. Haleiwa Farewell
09. Anybody Can Sing Songs They Know
10. When A Soldier Makes It Home
11. Ode to Office Supplies
12. Deportees
13. It's In the Contract
14. 1913 Massacree
15. Words On a Page
16. Mother's Voice
17. Woody & Lefty Lou
18. Do Re Mi

DISC 2 (61:05)

01. Serial Hugger (Hippies)
02. Coming Into Los Angeles
03. Leadbelly (Must Be Something Special)
04. Alabama Bound
05. A Reason to Stay Under the Covers
06. Mooses Come Walking
07. Old Shep / Me & My Goose
08. Piano Lessons & Records
09. St. Louis Tickle
10. Buy Me a Beer
11. City Of New Orleans
12. Remembering Jackie
13. Highway In The Wind
14. Leave a Piece of Yourself
15. This Land Is Your Land
16. Delusions of Grandeur
17. My Peace

Total Time:      1:51:32

It's a rare opportunity to get the chance to hear Arlo play solo - so it's always a treat, and this night was no different.  Another fantastic night filled with song, and story, and laughter.  For me personally the highlight is hearing everyone sing along on "My Peace" as it sounded so sweet.  Again, not a perfect recording, and I'll admit - the camera beeps were my own.  For some reason my camera was misbehaving and beeping even though I had the beep supposedly turned off.  So those beeps in the recording are mine - but I tried to limit the number I took as a result.  I don't think it detracts from the overall recording all that much.  Also, the Birchmere is a place where you can eat and drink while enjoying the show - and you'll hear some of that as well.

AudienceA-111 minArtwork, Photos, Web Links

Sample - Mother's Voice

MP3 Version - 320kbps:
After listening to the recording, please come back and rate it as to the quality of the recording. The grades listed above are my personal opinion only.

Share this on Facebook:


Anonymous said...

My friendly greetings from Crete-Greece! Just found your blog while looking for live recordings of the ''Great'' Richie Havens! Big fan of the man i am since my early teens, back in 1970! Could you, kindly please, repost your recording of him from 2007! Thank you! All the best!!! LEFTERIS.

rockymustard said...

Downloaded a couple of your Arlo Guthrie posts a few weeks back. Spent the weekend listening to them. They were a joy.
Thanks for sharing these and taking me somewhere I couldn't have been otherwise.
The sound was great on these also. Thanks.

Anonymous said...

Any chance of getting this in FLAC?

Post a Comment